Skip to content

Hacking my home security system

December 11, 2015

I am starting a project for the winter, where I plan to re-use the wired security features in my house, and connect them to a raspberry pi based monitoring system. The existing security system is not being monitored by a security company, and I am locked out of it since I do not have user or admin keys.

When complete, the new system will feature email or text alerts to me, custom settings, and a GUI to manage and monitor system status. That web based app will probably be a Ruby on Rails (ROR) based system, while the programming on the Pi will be in Python.

More to follow…

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

